An Okinawan Interlude

I interrupt your regularly scheduled blog postings to bring you this breaking news –


It’s official – I’m going to OKINAWA for Silver Week in September!!!!!

There is a week in May every year called “Golden Week,” made up of a string of national holidays. The whole country is on vacation (sort of like our Spring Break). This year, a string of holidays ALSO happens to fall in September so it has been dubbed “Silver Week.” It’s the 19-23. My friend Callie and I have been talking about the possibility of doing an Okinawa trip during that week, and today we found out that our nenkyu (day off – we have to take one day off to make the flights work) was approved!

We will be there the 18-22 (flights for the actual days off were already allll taken)!!! My birthday is on the 19, and I can’t imagine a better way to turn 24 than in one of these places….

Sipping a cocktail on a white sandy beach

Sipping a cocktail on a white sandy beach

...or scuba diving with sharks and some of the best coral reefs in the world

...or scuba diving with sharks and some of the best coral reefs in the world

...or maybe hiking up Hiji Falls, one of the most famous waterfalls in Japan! (There are those "Top 3s" again!)

...or maybe hiking up Hiji Falls, one of the most famous waterfalls in Japan! (There are those "Top 3s" again!)

I am so excited. We bought out tickets today, and somehow managed to get them super cheap. Okinawa in September is still supposed to be around 100 degrees! Okinawa is where I wanted to be placed in Japan; it’s totally cool that I didn’t get it – I love Hikari – but I cannot wait to see it!

*pictures taken from google images*

~ by C on August 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
