Those Hikari Summer Nights

In the heat of the day
the umi – the beach, the sea, the sun, the ocean
-it beckons
with its white foam arms it reaches out…
I step in, and it pulls
back, calling me in deeper
I dip my head –
the last of my body to surrender
The cold embraces me in
warmth
and I swim out, my breath held as I kick-
kick against the current,
kick against my fear
kick against all that is under the known – unknown
and I lift my head and
breathe in the intoxicating smell of
sweet salt air wafting the sounds of the vibrant
vocals of the lead girl on guitar
in the band
on stage
to my ears.
I laugh – as another and another frisbee sails across the sand and
I dip my head back into the cool warmth.
Like a swam,
I float in and out of the melodies of the sea and the land.

Those Hikari summer days,
fading into night
I walk into you-
I accept your invitation.
Arigato Gozaimasu-
I walk into you.
Oh, those Hikari Summer nights.

I'm not much of a poetry writer, but I found myself at Nijigahama Beach (hikari beach) one Saturday afternoon with a hankering to write and a dooming feeling of writer's block. I journaled in vain for a while, gave up and went for a swim. When I lifted my head out of the water, I heard a band, looked back towards the beach and laughed with joy at how perfect the moment was. This was what came out after that. That one perfect moment of joy overrode every fear and insecurity I have in Japan. Watashi wa umi ga skidesu. I like the beach.

I'm not much of a poetry writer, but I found myself at Nijigahama Beach (hikari beach) one Saturday afternoon with a hankering to write and a dooming dose of writer's block. I journaled in vain for a while, gave up and went for a swim. When I lifted my head out of the water, I heard the sounds of a girl rocking on guitar, looked back towards the beach and laughed with joy at how perfect the moment was: a band on stage, teenagers throwing frisbees, a bright blue sky above me and endless sea beyond me. This was what came out after that. That one perfect moment of joy overrode every fear and insecurity I have in Japan; everything is universal about the beauty of the ocean. Watashi wa umi ga skidesu. I like the beach.

Old boats lying shore-side. Just beyond them, hangliders come in for a landing and jet skiiers set out for the open water.

Old boats lying shore-side. Just beyond them, hangliders come in for a landing and jet skiiers set out for the open water.

DSCF0206

This is how they do the light show on the water at night. During the day, it's a massive ocean sprinkler and just as much fun as yard sprinklers were as a kid!

This is how they do the light show on the water at night. During the day, it's a massive ocean sprinkler and just as much fun as yard sprinklers were as a kid!

~ by C on August 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
